Growing food at home …..The modern trend to grow your own food is not new. During both wars, Australians were encouraged to grow for Victory.

Who grows their own food or keeps their own chooks?  Do you have memories of growing up with home grown veggies and fruit  and lots of preserves? Was it your Mum or your Nana who bottled goodies? Did you have a chook pen or grow up on a farm property? Share your memories….

1945 ‘Grow your own citrus fruits now’, The Australian Women’s Weekly (1933 – 1982), 22 September, p. 41. , viewed 17 Nov 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article47246621

food-at-home

I have memories of both sets of  my grandparents, post- war  with their veggie gardens and  fruit trees. I used to love helping them harvest their goodies.  Especially my paternal grandmother, who also grew herbs and  there is an association of sense of smell that can take me straight back to that backyard.  There were what seemed to me enormous fruit trees, in the yard, luscious apricots, and apples crisp and red, with tart granny smiths to be bottled up for later when the season had ended. Strawberries feature strongly in my memories as do blackberries.

In the 1950s my parents grew tomatoes and beans and peas with other staples. My mother-in -law  kept chooks and my father-in-law was a master a grafting and  he would have trees that grew almonds and walnuts, lemons and mandarins. Mum always had such a glut of apples that she would make apple sauce, stewed apples,  baked apples I never went home after a visit without several jars of preserves.

Thinking about this a thought has just popped into my head, perhaps this is one of the reasons we pay a premium price for Truss tomatoes. One smell and you are back standing in a garden with freshly harvested food.

Now days sadly for many people, we have become too accustomed to having what we want, when we want it, without a lot of effort.  As a result, we go to the supermarket and  we buy force grown fruit and veggies to have them out of season, or they are pumped with gas and kept in cold storage, or even worse we import fresh produce from overseas.

As I grow older I yearn for those simpler times.  There have been a lot of positive advances but in some ways, I feel  we have lost sight of some of the important values. We have so many labour saving machines and aids but we are busier than ever before and have less time for self and  family.  It seems in our overpowering urge to embrace all things modern we may have lost both the baby and the bath water along the way.

Leave a Reply

